Dominican, 1976.

After study film at Santo Domingo University, he wins the scholarship to specialize in editing at the EICTV of San Antonio de Los Baños in Cuba, where he became later the coordinator of the editing department.

He then moves to Spain and begins a prolific career as an editor working in several awarded feature films and documentaries that had led him to countries such as Puerto Rico, Peru, Nicaragua, U.S.A., Colombia, and the Dominican Republic.

He founded in his home country the production company Balsié Guanábana Macuto that serves as a launchpad for his director’s career and partner with Fernando Santos and Guasábara Cine to produce Liborio, his first feature film.

He has taught classes and give lectures in many film schools and art centers such as the EICTV, ECAM, NIC, CICE, Chavon Art School, and the Docnomads Erasmus Mundus Joint master’s degree.

In 2009 he became a member of the Spanish Film Academy, and since 2012 he’s a member of the European Film Academy.


– Vitro (In development)

– Liborio.(Not yet released). Fiction. 107’

– Nena’s window. Documentary. 40’ (RDOC 2015, Latin American Documentary Festival of Puerto Rico 2016)


– Liborio.

– Silence of the wind. Dir.: Álvaro Aponte Centeno

– Nena’s window.


– We’re all sailors. Dir.: Miguel Ángel Moulet. (Rotterdam 2019)

– Dream and silence. Dir.: Jaime Rosales (Quinzaine des Realisateurs. Cannes 2012)

– Me too. Dir.: Álvaro Pastor y Antonio Naharro (Silver shell for best actor and for best actress at San Sebastian 2009. BankGiro Loterij Audience Award at Rotterdam 2010)

– Bullet in the head. Dir.: Jaime Rosales (Fipresci Award at San Sebastian 2008)

– Solitary fragments. Dir.: Jaime Rosales (Goya for Best Film 2008. Une certaine regarde. Cannes 2008)

– The hours of the day. Dir.: Jaime Rosales (Fipresci Award at Quinzaine des Realisateurs. Cannes 2003)

– Silence of the wind. Dir.: Álvaro Aponte Centeno (Mar de Plata 2017)

– Las carpetas. Dir.: Maite Rivera (Documentary Award at Habana Film Festival. 2011)

– Barrio Cuba. Dir.: Humberto Solás (Audience award at Huelva 2005 and at Habana 2005)

– Papi. Dir.: Noelia Quintero (Not yet released)

– Reinbou. Dir.: Andrés Curbelo y David Maler

– By the sea. Dir.: Bladimir Abud

– Falling. Dir.: Ana Rodríguez Rosell

– The naked screen. Dir.: Florence Jaugey

– The good news. Dir.: Helena Taberna

– El gancho. Dir.: Sandra Higuita


– Liborio. Fiction. 107’

– Nena’s window. Documentary. 40’

– Las carpetas. Documentary. 90’

– Flamenco: three essences. Documentary. 48’


– Invulnerable. Fiction. 26’. Dir.: Álvaro Pastor. (Best short Málaga Film Fest, Jury Prize Toronto Shortfilm Festival)

– Canciones de invierno. Fiction. 30’. Dir.: Felix Viscarret. (Best Editing Incurt Festival)

– Uno más, uno menos. Fiction 22’ Dir.: Alvaro Pastor / Antonio Naharro. (Best Editing Alcalá Film Fest, Best Editing Granada Int. Film Fest, Best Editing Madrid Shortfilm Fest)

– El gol del siglo. Fiction 5’. Dir.: Jaime Rosales. (Part of the collective film “Short Plays” for the Brazil 2014  FIFA World Cup)

– Inocente. Fiction. 15’. Dir.: Álvaro Pastor

– Guante blanco.  Fiction/ TV serie. TVE-Bambú Producciones

– Desaparecida. Fiction/ TV serie. TVE-Grupo Ganga

– Flamenco: tres esencias Doc. 48’. Dir.: Sergio Matarraz

– El pintor y su retrato. Doc. 52’. Dir.: Manuel Palacios Canal +

– Plástica – Around. Videoclip 4’. Dir.: Oscar Tugores

– Hiyab. Fiction 8’. Dir.: Xavi Sala

– La Voz de Cádiz. 30’’. Spot-Pub. Dir.: Jorge Torregrosa

– El aire que respiro. Fiction 13’. Dir.: Sara Bilbatua

– En el frigo. Fiction 7’. Dir.: David Ilundain

– Mesa para Dos. Fiction 10’. Dir.: Medardo Amor / Ángel Almazán

– Ramón Areces: reelección. PSOE. Spot-pub 30’

– Un lugar en el mundo. TV serie. Antena 3

– Homofamilias. Doc.70’. Dir.: Manuel Palacios Canal +

– Flores. Fiction. 17’. Dir.: David Ilundain

– Vámonos. Fiction 15’. Dir.: Francisco Díaz

– Galeano: Orfebre y Caminante. Doc. 15’. Dir.: Osvaldo Daicich

– Following the dolphins / Najwa Nimri. Videoclip.3’ Dir.: Jorge Torregrosa

– Header for San Sebastian Film Festival 2000. Dir.: Manuel Palacios

– La ilusión. Fiction 20’ Dir.: José C. Manzano

– Vaivén. Fiction 20’ Dir.: David Ilundain

– Repsol-YPF Tiempo barroco. Spot-Pub.30”

– Repsol-YPF Recuerdos. Spot Pub. Five spots campaign. 30”

– Hienas. Fiction. 18’ Dir.: Jordi Soliva

– Cuba noir. Fiction. 20’. Dir.: Luis Hernán Reina

– La Nota Final. Fiction. 6’.  Dir.: Maite Rivera. (Jury prize “ Berlin Kinder Film Festival 2001)

– Los sitios cubanos de Ernest Hemingway. Doc. 52’. Dir.: Jorge Alonso Padilla

– Del gesto al baile. Doc. 52’. Dir.: Santiago Álvarez e Ismael Perdomo

– Richard Egüez & friends. Doc. 52’. Dir.: Ismael Perdomo

– Yo tuve un cerdo llamado Rubiel. Fiction, 13’. Dir.: Jaime Rosales.(Jury prize. Habana Film Festival)

– Episodio. Ficción, 13’. Dir.: Jaime Rosales.

He has also work as director and editor for Nickelodeon Channel Spain, Paramount Comedy Channel and direct the reportage series for Euronews: Sudan, economical development.